NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

TRIBAL TAXATION ISSUES COMMITTEE

Monday, December 16, 2019 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Opening remarks Consideration of the minutes of the August 27, 2019, meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Ryan Rauschenberger, Tax Commissioner, regarding tribal taxation issues and the taxation of online sales
9:25 a.m.	Presentations and discussion regarding priority issues affecting the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation
10:10 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Lynn Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources, regarding horizontal drilling near the Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara reservation boundaries
10:30 a.m.	Presentations and discussion regarding priority issues affecting the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Cody Schulz, Homeland Security Director, Department of Emergency Services, regarding conducting a tabletop or natural planning exercise to help coordinate resources with the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe in the event of an oil spill
11:35 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jay Almlie, Principal Engineer, Energy and Environmental Research Center, regarding the iPipe program and its value for preventing spills and monitoring environmental quality
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentations and discussion regarding priority issues affecting the Spirit Lake Tribe
1:45 p.m.	Presentations and discussion regarding priority issues affecting the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians
2:30 p.m.	Presentations and discussion regarding priority issues affecting the Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate of the Lake Traverse Reservation
3:15 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Department of Transportation, regarding the department's new director, Mr. William T. Panos, and clarification regarding the inclusion of tribal roads in the Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute's study of road maintenance and costs
3:35 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Tribal State Census Accurate Count Committee
3:55 p.m.	Census public service announcements from Governor Doug Burgum and tribal leaders
4:15 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Chairman: Governor Doug Burgum

Senators: Dwight Cook, Joan Heckaman, Rich Wardner Representatives: Josh Boschee, Craig Headland, Chet Pollert

Citizen Members: Scott J. Davis, Ryan Rauschenberger, Brent Sanford

Staff Contacts: Jill Grossman, Counsel

Emily L. Thompson, Code Revisor